A pretty pictorial of Pinterest promoted painting projects….

Standard

A pretty pictorial of Pinterest promoted painting projects….

Peter Piper, where are ya, son?  Last weekend brought with it delightful sunshine, temps in the 70s, and Spring breezes.  Perfect weather for painting on my porch!  St. Patrick was surely smiling on his special weekend. I hauled out three chairs I have been waiting to paint.  I got the chair on the left from a local ‘buy, sell, trade’ website for three bucks from an adorable girl who loves ‘junk’ as much as I do. It was very wobbly. Elmer’s Wood Glue rectified that situation!  The chair on the right was hanging out in one of our closets.

Carefully wipe off all dust, dirt, oil.

Carefully wipe off all dust, dirt, oil.

I got this lovely rocking chair from the same ‘buy, sell, trade’ website from an equally lovely lady who lives close by.

I love to rock on the porch!

I love to rock on the porch!

Next, I rolled up my sleeves – well, proverbial sleeves because I was really wearing a tank top – and got to work!  Necessities for painting chairs on my porch: drop cloth, primer, paint, paint brush, wood glue, stir stick.

Read all your labels!

Read all your labels!

I began the painting process with primer – very important so your paint will stick to the surface.  Swift, even movements are important when using spray cans – no drips allowed!

Kilz Primer works nicely.

Kilz Primer works nicely.

I ran out to get more primer and this is what I came back with.

I love these bright, friendly colors!

I love these bright, friendly colors!

After I evenly covered the chairs with primer, I gave them time to dry which was expedited by the sweet breeze blowing.

All primed up and ready to paint!

All primed up and ready to paint!

I picked up a lace table cloth for 75 cents at Helping Hands Thrift Store to use as a stencil.

75 cents well spent.

75 cents well spent.

In honor of St. Patrick, I chose the pleasing satin green apple hue by Rustoleum Painters Touch Ultra Cover 2x for my first chair.  I chose a ‘scene’ from my lace tablecloth stencil to use on the chair seat and carefully positioned it.  Use tape to secure the stencil if necessary.  After spray painting over the stencil, leave the stencil in place for about 20 minutes before removing.

I feel so cute and crafty!

I feel so cute and crafty!

Ta da!

Ta da!

I decided to throw in a little variety and paint my rocking chair with a paint brush.   I love red! It makes me happy and makes me think of Gran as it was her favorite color. She always wore red lipstick, red glasses, red clothes, and carried a red pocketbook.  The eternal twinkle in her eye was her best accessory.  I know she would love this red paint!

Rocking red!

Rocking red!

Spray painting is much easier to me than brush painting.  I kept getting that streaky, brushy looked which I blamed on the brush.  Ahem.

2013-03-15 17.51.44 2013-03-15 17.54.51 2013-03-16 10.07.52

I surveyed the completely red rocking chair and was pleased with the paint job.  Just perfect for my front porch!

Wish you were here, Gran!

Wish you were here, Gran!

My last but not least St. Patrick’s Day weekend painting project was the wobbly chair which was perfectly strong and steady after an overnight rendezvous with Elmer’s Wood Glue.  After the primer dried, I chose the black spray paint I found on sale at Home Depot. Since I achieved such fun and satisfaction with my first stencil project, I decided to create a sequel.  Pretty cute, yes?

Chair/Stencil project #2

Chair/Stencil project #2

These armless chairs are perfect for front porch picking!  Bring on the stringed instruments!

An imperfect pair.

An imperfect pair.

On Sunday, March 17, I relaxed on a completely dry chair, raised a glass (and my feet) in honor of our Wild Irish Violet – grandchild #1 – who was celebrating her 7th St. Patty’s Day birthday.  Cheers to Violet, creativity, and holiday appropriate socks!

2013-03-17 16.51.24

Slainte!

Leave a Reply

