Junkin’ and De-junkin’

Standard

I had such a fun “junkin'” afternoon.  I started out at Vintage 615 where I found some fabulous, vintage metal trays and a precious old doily and some of those old calendar towels like Gran always had. A nice lady there told me about two more places nearby that I’d never heard of – 2Storeys Antiques and Carter’s Creek Antiques. All three of those places just made me feel good, happy.  At 2Storeys I found a wonderful 7-Up pop bottle crate (oh the memories of emptying those out to fill up the coolers at Croley’s Corner!) and a Fire King plate to go with the collection I’m building.  Everything was reasonably cheap!

Croley's Corner Grocery Store - Eli, KY. My parents bought this in October 1977, I was in 4th grade. We moved into the apartment in the back of the store. We stayed a year - one of the best years of my life.

Croley’s Corner Grocery Store – Eli, KY. My parents bought this in October 1977, I was in 4th grade. We moved into the apartment in the back of the store. We stayed a year – one of the best years of my life.

As I find pieces, I'm adding to this set of Fire King dishes to use in my kitchen. Mom gave these to me. She found them in a home they bought in Florida.

As I find pieces, I’m adding to this set of Fire King dishes to use in my kitchen. Mom gave these to me. She found them in a home they bought in Florida.

My fabulous finds!

My fabulous finds!

I had almost as much fun when I got home “de-junkin'” a cramped, crowded drawer and an equally cramped, crowded utensil caddy in my kitchen.

Clutter!

Clutter!

I utilized some unused space in one of my wall cabinets.

Unused storage space in this cabinet?  Yes!

Unused storage space in this cabinet? Yes!

The cast of characters:

-The two vintage/antique metal trays

-Command Adhesive strips and hooks

-A couple of magnetic clips and hooks

I love these old metal trays! I think 8 bucks was my combined total spent on these.

I love these old metal trays! I think 8 bucks was my combined total spent on these.

Command Adhesive products. They're pretty awesome.

Command Adhesive products. They’re pretty awesome.

I followed the directions and put the Command Adhesive strips on the backs of my metal trays and put the little adhesive hooks on the fronts.

Do these work like the Sticking Charm in Harry Potter?

Do these work like the Sticking Charm in Harry Potter?

While the sticky things were getting good and stuck to their new surfaces, I rummaged around the cluttery drawer and dug out some items that are typically hard to find in there and, of course, were taking up precious space.  I pulled a few items out of the utensil caddy relieving some of that crampy space.

I stuck the metal trays to the inside of the cabinet doors.  I strategically organized the items onto the trays via hooks and clips.

Up and out of the way but easy to access.

Up and out of the way but easy to access.

No more digging around, searching for my measuring spoons!

No more digging around, searching for my measuring spoons!

I felt so smart when I stood back and surveyed my finished project!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

